Jiri Valoch

Leben und Arbeit/biography

Jiri Valoch was born in Brno in 1946. From 1965 to 1970 Valoch studied Czech and German literature and aesthetics at the Faculty of Philosophy at Masaryk University in Brno. He has been working as an art critic, theorist and curator since 1966. In 1969 he organised the pioneering exhibition Partitury – hudebni grafikia in Brno, featuring works by artists like Ken Friedman, Ben Vautier, Robert Rehfeldt and many others.

Jiri Valoch is a poet and author of visual, conceptual and minimal poetry. He had been close to Mail Art in the beginning of the movement but is more of a visual poet. He lives and works in Brno.


Jiri Valoch wurde 1946 in Brno geboren. Von 1965 bis 1970 studierte er an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Masaryk-Universität in Brno Tschechische und Deutsche Literatur sowie Ästhetik. Seit 1966 ist er als Kunstkritiker, Theoretiker und Kurator tätig. 1969 organisierte er in Brno die wegweisende Ausstellung Partitury – hudebni grafikia, in der u.a. Arbeiten von Ken FriedmanBen VautierRobert Rehfeldt und anderen Fluxuskünstlern zu sehen waren.

Jiri Valoch ist vor allem Dichter und Autor visueller, konzeptioneller und minimaler Poesie. Er stand der Mail Art in ihren Anfangsjahren nahe, gehört aber mehr in das Reich der Visuellen Poeten. Er lebt bis heute in Brno.

Ausgewählte Arbeiten/selected works

Literatur (Auswahl)/literature (selection)

Links

http://www.hundertmark-gallery.com/artist-jiri-valoch.0.html (de)

Author: Mail Artists' Index

Mail Artists' Index Biographies, works and links concerning important Mail Artists. – Biografien, Arbeiten und Links bedeutender Mail Art Künstler. Mail Art | Mail Artists | Postkunst

12 thoughts on “Jiri Valoch”

  1. Hello dear Mr. Melkonian,
    thanks again for your message.
    I hope that will be possible to speak together again.
    Milos Urbasek was great artist and I made lots of exhibitions with him. I create even lots of text in his biography book with Peter hans Riese from Koblenz. I have too some pieces of his work in my collection – mainly letteristic works from 70s.
    If you will communicate with Mr. Rybar – tell him my recommendation – then you will received best conditions for sell.

    With best Jiri Valoch

    1. Dear Mr. Valoch.

      I have already notified Mr. Rybar of your recommendation, and thank you for your additional comments. If you can let me have your personal Email address I can send you some images of works in my collection.

      By the way my mother tongue is German, and if you prefer we can communicate in German.

      With kind regards.

      Jack Melkonian.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. Dear Mr. Valoch.

    With interest I have read an article you have written on Milos Urbasek.

    In 1975, a period I visited frequently Slovakia, I purchased from
    SAGA, the Slovak Art Galleries Association in Bratislava, ten collage
    work from Milos Urbasek (invoice 900/2-1975, dated 31.1.1975). All
    works were produced in 1965 except one which dates from 1966. Nine of
    them are still in my collection and three images

    Needles to say that I will be happy to lend some works, should you
    wish to hold an exhibition in the future. Any articles in either German, English or French on Urbasek would be of interest to me.

    With kind regards.

    Jack Melkonian
    1822 Chernex
    Switzerland

    1. Hello dear Mr. Melkonian,
      I am in hospital now, and it seems that my exibition activity is in end.
      Anyway I can recomand you one gallery in Brno- Czech Republic, where prepare big exibition of Slovak Conceptual Art. The name of this gallery is Fait Gallery and contact person is Denia Kujelova.
      Or if you want to sell thoses pieces I can recomand you Czech auction hose – 1. Art Consulting managed by Jiri Rybar which is most seriour seller.

      With best Jiri Valoch

      1. Dear Mr. Valoch.

        I am very sorry to read that you are in hospital, and your pessimistic message
        tha your exhibition activity has come to an. I sincerely hope that I will be able
        To meet you and talk about Urbasek. In 1975 I purchased 10 collage works made by him in 1965/66, struck by his talent. Now that I have reached the age of 80 I need to pass on some of the works to a new generation.

        Thank you for recommending Art Consulting and all your comments.

        Please let’s keep in touch when you feel better. Wishing you a quick recovery.

        With kind regards.

        Jack Melkonian
        1822 Chernex
        Switzerland

Leave a comment